Post by amazinglyaudrey on Feb 28, 2013 14:48:11 GMT -5
On a bounty hunt where you're supposed to bring the captain back alive (or at least I assume because I fail the contract whenever I destroy the ship), if you're shooting decks or boarding and kill the captain (thus ending combat), you still succeed in completing the contract. Intended?
When on a capture mission, you do not want to reduce the enemy hull to 0 before you can board them. Reducing their engines to 0 disables their ship and allows you to board them. When your at the looting screen never select "destroy" just press the "done" button.
Post by amazinglyaudrey on Feb 28, 2013 17:29:53 GMT -5
Yes, I know, but when you're boarding and/or reducing their engines to 0, there is a chance that you'll get the message "their captain is dead" (as opposed to "you have wounded their captain"), which will take you to the victory/loot screen. In this way, you kill the captain, but still succeed in completing the mission.
Post by Cory Trese on Feb 28, 2013 23:13:08 GMT -5
Yeah, this is intentional. Long time ago we established and if you win via reducing Captain to 0HP they are considered "crippled / grievously wounded" but still capable of being captured in a stasis berth.
However, I can see an argument that this rule would change for higher difficulties. This is also the same rules as Android.
Nah, if you can put his pieces into a cryopod, and reanimate his brain for trial, that's good enough for contract fulfillment.
Breaching the ship's hull and venting the atmosphere to void space means it is much harder to recover the brain in time for bubble-wrapping, so if you accidently blow up the guy's ship, you're out of luck.
I remember that it was said that the "dying" captan is placed in something so he doesn't die. But I also remember it being said that the bounty target isn't the captain himself but a passenger on the ship. Is that not true?